I’d Say It’s Quite Edgy: A Review of Robert Zemeckis’ The Walk

On the way to the theatre I was on the phone going through the emotional turmoil that is my life and explaining the film. My mother isn’t the most eloquent or quaint women but she is cultured and wise so you can only imagine how she reacted when I told that I had no idea what this film would entail other than what I saw from the previews. It went a little something like this:

“WHAT THE HELL DO YOU MEAN YOU’VE NEVER HEARD OF PHILIPPE PETIT? HOW COULD YOU NOT? HONESTLY, WHAT KIND OF CRAPTASTIC EDUCATION AM I FUNDING?!”

So to all you that knew how the end of film was going to play out I want you to know how much I envy you. Not for the knowledge that you possessed necessarily but for the peaceful demeanor you sported in the theatre and in general knowing the entire time that the damn crazy man would survive walking the World Trade Center Towers without any safety precautions. I envy you and I hope you spill coffee on your favorite shirt tomorrow morning.  And to those of you who went in blind I congratulate you on surviving the stress of:

  1. Coming to know and love Philippe Petit as played by Joseph Gordon Levitt through a series of heartfelt scenes showing his upward climb to becoming a talented walker and the many friendships he made along the way.

  1. Watching said Petit go mad with passion trying to plan and pull off his biggest performance ever also known as Le Coup. And injuring himself in the process
  2. The amazing camera work that made you feel like you were walking right along with Philippe but also made you wonder if you brought tissues and by chance had an extra pair of underwear for the ride home.

  1. And if you had an experience anything like mine you felt an overwhelming wave of catharsis and tears knowing that not only had Philippe survived a nearly impossible act but he also had fulfilled his life dream. A feat most human beings only dream of.

After almost 15 years since the national tragedy that led to the demise of the twin towers, I see this movie as a means of bringing a positive light back to the iconic structures. They may be gone and they will never be forgotten but who says that they have to always be remembered as a site of tragedy when something so inspiring happened there and can be shared not only through this film but through the viewers who enjoyed it. So I encourage you to recommend this film to any and everyone.

MUSIC. BALANCE, PEACE, TRANSCENDENCE.
myAvatar
K MAAYAN BRICE
TWITTER: @UNHENGEDWISDOM
IG: @THEMYSTICALPOPTART
TUMBLR: THELOGICALASPARAGUS.TUMBLR.COM
I’d Say It’s Quite Edgy: A Review of Robert Zemeckis’ The Walk

Leave a Reply

