A Disastrous YouTube Viewing of NOW & THEN sparks reboot?

Now and then, I have time to watch a movie. Now and then I might have time to do a favor for a friend. Once every decade the stars align and I can do both. When I was asked to watch a movie from 20 years ago, I had my reservations. However, I never thought for a moment that getting the actual movie would be a problem. I have Netflix and isn’t that mostly older movies that I didn’t really want to watch anyway? Wrong. It was not on Netflix, not on Apple TV, and there just are not a lot of video stores left. Which left me watching the movie on my iPad through YouTube. Not how I wanted to spend two hours of my life. now-and-then

now-and-then-tv-show I remembered, briefly, when this movie came out. And I remembered the rock star cast of actors; Demi Moore, Rita Wilson, Melanie Griffin, Rosie O’Donnell. These were actors I idolized growing up. Ok…maybe not Rosie. So, I was pretty excited to see what this all this talent could deliver. However, their acting was flat. There was little to no chemistry with this crew. And honestly, Rosie was the only one who gave a half way believable performance. To be fair, the adults were a very small part of the movie. The real “stars” of the show were the children versions of themselves. Which led me to wonder, why were the adults even in the film? The whole movie was about the childhood friendship between the girls. Did they just use Hollywood big names to reel us in? The answer is yes. The entire movie is scene after scene of one summer in this tribe of preteens’ lives, mishap after mishap. Think of it as a girl version of Stand By Me, but not half as good. And on the front and back of this 2 hour flashback, the four of them get back together 25 years later because one of them is giving birth. Who does that? Now, I can relate with girly friendships growing up and I can relate with still loving those girls as they are now. But I cannot for the life of me imagine giving birth with them in the room. I am sure this script and cast looked good in a Hollywood production room. We have top notch actors, a story line that worked in the past, and who doesn’t love a great coming of age story. However, the film failed. It was flat, unbelievable, and looked really crappy on the iPad. It should say something that the entire movie was free on YouTube. I did hear talks of a remake…..my advice is save yourself from that pain! MV5BMTY4MjMwNzA1NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzEwNTYyMQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_ Until Next Time Leigh

Check out even more of Leigh Phillips at @LeighEharv
A Disastrous YouTube Viewing of NOW & THEN sparks reboot?